islam is ………

October 9, 2009

Giving Khutbah 1

Filed under: Islam,Opinion,Religion — WhyIslam @ 3:13 pm

Today our Imam was traveling and not available at Jumaa. The second option in the succession to give Jumaa was also absent. So was the third person. The khateeb who was supposed to give Jumaa today was running late and people were looking around to who would give the Jumaa sermon. Some eyes landed on me. I would probably be there when your first, second, third, fourth fifth and sixth options are not available. However, the thought of standing there and giving Jumaa khutbah was frightening enough. What would I say? If nobody shows up, then I probably have to stand up and say something…

Thoughts started wrestling in my head. I have led Salah before but never Khutbah. I started thinking of a book I was browsing yesterday and to some posts I posted on this blog herehere and here. Maybe take a verse from the Quran and discuss it. I would probably start with sharing my love for my Muslim brothers (not many times do I get a chance to tell my Muslim brothers that I love them). I would probably expose my fear and racing heart (I have heard that this would connect the speaker with the audience and subside the speaker’s fears). How can I stand at the same position as prophet Muhammad peace be upon him?

Alhamdolellah… the khateeb showed up and gave the Jumaa khutbah. I could tell that the khateeb himself was slightly fearful at the start. This situation led me to think that I would like to write a khutbah. Not for giving it but for preparing it; preparing a khutbah would give you a great perpective into yourself and into your own hierarchy of the Muslims’ priorities.

I am working on it and will probably be posted here sometime soon insha’ Allah.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

